Gummies!!!

It’s amazing how, over a year, you can miss certain textures in your food. One of the ones that I really wanted to try for the holidays (but didn’t in the end) were gummy candies. But Valentine’s is just around the corner… so I’ve made these! 


I found the original recipe on YouTube, here https://youtu.be/YQ2DweIAGtk, but here it is again, in a smaller batch: 

Heat 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 can coconut milk together until the sugar dissolves. 

In another bowl, mix 1/4 of rice flour and 3/4 c tapioca starch (the original recipe insists you use the flour, but… they’re the same thing… so I dunno what he meant there). 

Add the coconut milk mixture to the flour mixture, and stir well. Add about 1/4 c milk until the mix is thinned to the consistency of milk. If you want to do layers, split the mix in half (I used plastic bags) and colour one bag (I used blueberry juice). 


Start by pouring a thin layer in the bottom of your silicone mould. Steam it for 1-2 minutes. Add another thin layer, steam 1-2 minutes. Continue adding layers and steaming until you’re at the end. I steamed the last layer for 3 minutes just to be sure. 

Then put them in the fridge, and let it set for 10-30 minutes. 

Then pop them out of the moulds. And hide them from yourself; they’re addictive!!! Make sure it’s an air right container so they don’t dry out. I’m testing them now to see if it should be fridge or not… I’m thinking not…

Variations: I added a bit of coconut to the bottom of one of my moulds. Lovely!!! My next batch I plan on trying coconut flour instead of rice flour so that the flavour is more coconutty- these are relatively bland, all things considered. 

I also wonder if, since coconut milk is kinda like cream, if one could make this with cream instead and have it work the same way. I might try that for other flavourings. If I can ever try other flavourings…. anyways happy experimenting! 

One thought on “Gummies!!!

Leave a Reply

