Carrot cake, without carrots? 

So this is not a recipe exactly… but the other day I decided to experiment a little. I was thinking that it would be nice to make a carrot-like cake. How hard can it be to make it without carrots? 


So far the first attempt was quite satisfactory, though I do now wonder what carrot cake would taste like without the spices, and whether this is comparable.

How did I replace the carrots? Sweet potato.

How did I come up with this idea? Sheer insanity. 

They have the same consistency, right? Occasionally they even come in similar colours! Though this time I used a Japanese white sweet potato (it’s what I had), next time I’ll try orange. I may also try cooked mashed sweet potato in the pancake batter too, instead of banana, so as not to muddy the flavour.

No recipe yet, though. I took my standard pancake batter, and threw in fistfuls of grated sweet potato until it looked decent. Then I mixed sugar and butter, spread on top, and baked at 350 until the toothpick came out alright.


The Verdict? Sweet Potato Cake… tastes like cake. Oddly it now has little flecks of green in the cake (I’m guessing something about being refrigerated brought out some of the blue in the purple peel?). But definitely edible.

The more vegetables, the healthier, right? Plus… I have a bunch of dehydrated sweet potato that I’m not fond of. I hear a dehydrated carrot mistake was the source of the original carrot cake recipe… so perhaps there is hope for a useful outcome to my dehydrated potato chunks. I hope!!!

Leave a Reply

