Cocoa(not) SNICKERDOODLES 

The other day I stopped by a small natural food pantry on my way home from work. A friend had insisted she’d found safe all-purpose flour for me there, but as it turns out it had traces of nuts. Which explained some hives.

I digress. I chose to force myself to look around and see what else they had… and they had Coconut Flour from Earth’s Choice!

So I decided to try it out in a recipe I adapted from what was my favourite cookbook as a child, the Treasury of Creative Cooking. It has gold pages, which obviously makes it better. If you want to make it gluten free, be sure to use GF oats, and check with your celiac to be sure that oats are not a problem for them (some celiacs are sensitive to oats, others not).

Cocoa(not) Snickerdoodles

Heat oven to 375F. Grease your cookie sheets or add Parchment, or silicone mats.

In a large bowl, beat:

1 cup butter, softened (bet this would work with coconut oil too!)

3/4 c brown sugar (I just used raw sugar)

3/4 c granulated sugar

Add in:

1 large banana

Mix well.

Slowly add:

2 c uncooked rolled oats 

3/4 c white rice flour (I had a bit less)

3/4 c coconut flour (I had a bit more)

1/4 c dry milk powder (next time if I’m baking for my lactose-free colleague I’ll try adding more coconut flour instead of more lactose…)

1 tsp baking soda

Mix it all well, you should get a large glob. This dough is perfectly safe to eat as is… and is an excellent addition to ice cream. I expect it’d be amazing coated in chocolate, if you can have that sort of thing (maybe someday!!!). 

Before you bake them, put 2 Tbsp of white sugar and 2 Tbsp raw sugar in a bowl. Roll the dough into 1-2″ balls, and coat in the sugar mix. Put them on your cookie sheet, and press flat. Mine didn’t spread, but the original recipe calls for 2″ space between. 

Bake 8-10 mins (375F), until firm in the centre. Put them on wire racks to cool. Then hide them from the children. And from yourself.

Enjoy! 

3 thoughts on “Cocoa(not) SNICKERDOODLES 

    • Shouldn’t change it too much!

      And I fully approve using whatever you have on hand… or whatever you can eat. That’s what I do, all the time!

      I’m hoping to be able to add brown sugar to my diet soon- I can only add things very slowly so that I know for sure whether they are causing hives or not.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

