Marshmallow #Fails

When you are substituting a TON of ingredients in recipes… Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn’t. 

Just in case you think I’m some sort of innate cooking genius… I burned eggs as a child multiple times. And bacon. And water. A lot of what I know comes from failures, so this month I thought I’d share one of my MANY failures of last year. This one was one I ate, and enjoyed. There were a few (dehydrated yogurt & fruit leather for example) which were so inedible I just had to compost. And some, like grapefruit toffee… which I made myself eat over a month or two because I’m that stubborn. 

This past summer the attempt was MARSHMALLOWS! So far it’s resulted in some very sweet, not very marshmallow like confections. I can’t use gelatin because of the sulphites, and agar is very far down the list of things to try next when I have no hives. Chocolate is MUCH higher.

But anyways, I found a recipe that used icing sugar and corn syrup, and substituted golden syrup… and i think the recipe wasn’t well tested. I tried it twice in small batches with complete failures. Delicious failures, mind you.


I tried it later at different temperatures, and it looked a lot more like marshmallows… smooth… but was basically just sugar fudge. With no flavourings.

So. All that to say: If you have a marshmallow recipe that doesn’t use gelatin or agar… please let me know!

Or if you know how to MAKE gelatin that might work too. 

Leave a Reply

