Coconut!

It’s been hard to tell but I *think* coconut is alright for me! #happydance. I made macaroons the other day, inspired by the 5-ingredient minimalist baker recipe online… Except I realized afterwards that I actually omitted two ingredients and substituted all of the others! But they are simple and SO ADDICTIVE that I thought I’d share my version.

    

Coconut Macaroons

You’ll need:

A blender (a real one, not an immersion blender, unless you want to be showered with coconut)
A spatula (the silicone types that let you scrape things) or a long spoon to let you stir the blender contents (including near the blades).

A silicone baking mat, or if you can use it- parchment paper, and a cookie tray.

Directions:

1. Blend 3 cups of coconut, 2 Tbsp butter, 2Tbsp syrup (I used golden cane sugar syrup, but you could use any syrup really). Preheat oven to 350F

2. Stop the blender frequently to stir, until everything sticks together when you press it against the blender’s wall.

3. Use a curved tablespoon, or mini scoop, to scoop out the mix. Press the mixture into the scoop and place onto baking tray (I like to flip a heaping tablespoon onto the silicone mat on the tray, then press it down, then tap gently until it releases!)

4. Bake for 6-10 minutes. Watch it carefully. Take it out when golden brown, and resist the immediate urge to eat them all: they’re less crumbly once they cool!

Leave a Reply

