Beet Greens… Tasting good?

We grew beets this year (the stripey sort, much milder than the regular reds), and as winter draws nearer I’m finding myself excited about the beets- I hear you can store them in a cool, dark place for a long time!!! 

Much less exciting are the beet greens, which I forced myself to cook & eat if ever I accidentally bought whole beets with leaves in the store. Almost ruined the meals I added it to… But edible is edible. 

Thus began the quest for a better recipe. Imagine my shock when I found a source suggesting it could be used in salad! I haven’t had salad since… Christmas. Last year. I thought about it though, and decided that if I could make dressing…. I could probably eat salads regularly until frost! Here follows the shockingly delicious recipe:

  

Beet Green Salad

First take the greens (you can throw in some chard leaf too) and let them soak ~10 mins in cold water, then scrubbing clean where necessary. 

Remove the leaves from the harder stems, and place only the leaves in a salad spinner. Dry off (you can steam or fry the stems in butter). 

To make the dressing, put a cup of berries in the blender. Add ~1 cup rice vinegar, and 1/4 c olive oil. Blend. Then add honey (golden cane sugar syrup for me) slowly until the dressing tastes balanced, about 1/2 a cup. Store the extra in a jar in the fridge.

To serve, toss the greens with the dressing, add a few whole berries and some seeds as well. Enjoy!

PS Anyone know a good cooked beet green recipe? I still want to eat those stems without plugging my nose to full the tastebuds.

Leave a Reply

