Collect them all!

Sometimes when I think back on the last 6 years or so, it feels like I’ve been collecting allergens in somewhat the same way some people collect baseball cards. I started learning to list them off in quick succession: Cherries, Apples, Peaches, Pears, Plums, Nectarine, Apricot, Hazelnut, Almond, Walnut, Pecan.

I wish I could say that the process of ‘collecting’ them went smoothly. That I’d learned from my mistakes. That I hadn’t stubbornly refused to accept that yes, they were on the list. Mostly I did, but when it came to apple I stubbornly continued to eat it cooked- cooking it more & more until I could no longer deny that my apple dessert pizza that had been cooked 30 mins in the oven and incinerated 15 minutes in the microwave probably didn’t count as reacting to just raw apple anymore. I was lucky not to have made it worse, though I do get localized swelling if someone spills apple juice on me.

The addition of cucumber, however… Well THAT was an adventure. I’ll relate it in my next post.

Leave a Reply

